WattShare Open-Earn
ActiveHardware-agnostic carbon-credit rewards for charging your own EV at home, with no smart charger needed, but WattShare publishes no rate, threshold or payout schedule.
- Offered by
- WattShare
- Reward rate
- Rate not published
- Payout model
- Other
- Paid out
- Not publicly specified
- Hardware
- Bring your own compatible charger
- Last verified
- July 28, 2026
About this program
Open-Earn is WattShare's software-first path to monetizing your own home charging under Canada's Clean Fuel Regulations. WattShare describes it as hardware-agnostic: it can work with a standard Level 2 outlet or an existing "dumb" charger, without buying proprietary smart hardware, with its software logging charging sessions to meet federal data-documentation requirements. It is distinct from WattShare's separate charger-sharing marketplace, where hosts list a charger and are paid when neighbours book a session. WattShare says sharing typically pays higher per-kWh rates, and that many hosts use both.
Eligibility
Canadian EV owners charging at home. WattShare states the platform is in beta and does not publish eligibility conditions, CFR enrollment steps or duplicate-registration rules for Open-Earn.
Hardware & vehicle requirements
No smart charger is required for Open-Earn. WattShare states it can work with a standard Level 2 outlet or an existing non-smart charger. Chargers supporting OCPP (for example 1.6J or 2.0.1) can be connected through a generic OCPP setup. The exact verification method beyond "software securely logs precise charging sessions" is not publicly described.
Reward structure details
WattShare does not publish an Open-Earn reward rate. Minimum payout, payout schedule, payout method and any fees are also not publicly specified on its own site. For the separate charger-sharing marketplace, hosts set their own price and earnings depend on location, availability and demand; WattShare publishes an earnings calculator rather than a headline rate, and says it deducts a service fee whose amount it does not publish.
Sources
- WattShare: Open-Earn page (software-first CFR carbon-credit path, hardware-agnostic, works with a standard Level 2 outlet or existing charger; no rate, threshold, schedule or fees published), retrieved July 28, 2026
- WattShare: official FAQ ("What is WattShare Open-Earn vs earning from charger sharing?": Open-Earn covers CFR credits for your own home charging; charger sharing is the separate booking marketplace, typically at higher rates; generic OCPP 1.6J/2.0.1 setup; service fee deducted from sharing payouts), retrieved July 28, 2026
